Who Me?

Welcome at the feast

How to keep Millennials in the church? Let’s keep church un-cool.

leave a comment »

How to keep Millennials in the church? Let’s keep church un-cool. (This piece first appeared at The Washington Post website, July 31, 2013.)

by Brett McCracken

millennials-wordle

 

“Last week a column on CNN’s Belief Blog titled “Why Millennials Are Leaving the Church” went viral, partially because any time the words “Millennials,” “leaving,” and “church” are combined in a headline, people pay attention.

But why? Why do we care so much about the reasons 
Millennials are reportedly leaving churches?

I’m a Millennial, but I am weary of everyone caring so much about why Millennials do this or don’t do that. I’m sorry Millennials, but I’m going to have to throw us under the bus here: we do not have everything figured out. And if we expect older generations and well-established institutions to morph to fit our every fickle desire, we do so at our peril.”

Read more here but don’t miss these take-aways:

“Part of the problem is the hubris of every generation, which thinks it has discovered, once and for all, the right way of doing things. C.S. Lewis called it ‘chronological snobbery,’ defining it as ‘the uncritical acceptance of the intellectual climate common to our own age and the assumption that whatever has gone out of date is on that account discredited.’

But a deeper problem is that Christianity has become too obsessed with how it is perceived. Just like the Photoshop-savvy Millennials she is so desperate to retain, the church is ever more meticulously concerned with her image, monitoring what people are saying about her and taking cues from that.”

and

“As a Millennial, if I’m truly honest with myself, what I really need from the church is notanother yes-man entity enabling my hubris and giving me what I want. Rather, what I need is something bigger than me, older than me, bound by a truth that transcends me and a story that will outlast me; basically, something that doesn’t change to fit me and my whims, but changes me to be the Christ-like person I was created to be.”

Written by mrsdkmiller

August 1, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

