Who Me?

Welcome at the feast

God Doesn’t Love Everyone the Same

leave a comment »

masses_of_people_by_froggykisaki-d3466p0

Whoever you are, your Father loves you differently than he loves other people. You are more than a singular entity in the mass we call humanity. You are a person in the truest kind of personal relationship, for you are in a relationship with your Father, who formed you in the womb, has plumbed the depths of your being, and is intimately acquainted with every minutiae of who you are. Just as you are, he loves you. Fully and yet uniquely, he loves you as his child. (Chad Bird, originally posted at his blog, Flying Scroll)

Having purified your souls by your obedience to the truth for a sincere brotherly love, love one another earnestly from a pure heart, 1 Peter 1:22

Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor.  Romans 12:10

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.”By this all people will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.”  John 13:34-35

“This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.” John 15:12

Owe no one anything, except to love one another, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law…. Love does no wrong to a neighbor; therefore love is the fulfilling of the law.  Romans 13:8, 10

If we are to love as the Father has loved us (and thus, fulfill the law!) , ought we to endeavor to love others differently?  We can’t know them as deeply and intimately as the Lord does, but can we love others according to their uniqueness?

I know some of my brothers and sisters well because I work with them, or are related to them, or have found common ground in interests or beliefs.  Others I encounter briefly during the day or the week — how many more whom I see regularly but I don’t even know whether I should call them brothers or sisters?  How can I love people differently, uniquely, if I don’t know them very well, or if I don’t let that which makes them unique or different crash that barrier in my brain where I’d rather just “deal with” them? How can I do this if it is just not in the logistics to get to know intimately most of the brethren?

Even more of a factor is this:  There are some who are easy to love, but many more who are hard to love.  That’s not supposed to change the commandment, but unfortunately, for me, it does.

Pretty image of self:  I love loving my friends and fellow believers.

Ugly Truth:  I do not love everyone as I ought; I do not love most as much as I ought, and I carry in my rebellious heart a list of excuses why I don’t have to. But none of them are valid.

What if I paste a mental meme over the lens of my eye, so that when I look at others, I see something like this:

 

this person PNG

 

Transformed by Christ, able to love others as the Father does, broken to be sensitive and sacrificial in my love to others, convicted by the Scripture that love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things …. what if that meme in my mind’s eye made me do things differently? What if it made me discover more about my neighbors:  how they are, what moves them, what angers them, what tires them, what makes them feel desperate, who they love?  Would I love them uniquely, differently?

I’ll let you know.

Read more of Chad’s post at God Doesn’t Love Everyone the Same.

Written by mrsdkmiller

September 24, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Leave a Reply

