Who Me?

Welcome at the feast

Melissa Edgington: The Morning When My Mother Got Up Anyway

leave a comment »

Another great Mother’s Day post… by Melissa Edgington at Your Mom Has a Blog

Your Mom Has A Blog

I remember one morning when I was in elementary school, I woke to the usual scent of some delicious breakfast baking in the oven.  Blueberry muffins, maybe.  I walked into the kitchen, and instead of seeing my mom on her usual perch at the edge of a kitchen chair, drinking her coffee, I could see her lying on her bed in the next room, pale and looking exhausted.

She was sick.  She had probably been up all night vomiting.  And, the only way she could feel remotely like she wasn’t going to do it again was to lie down.

Still, when she saw me, she got up.  She woke up my brother.  She took the muffins out of the oven and poured me some juice.  And every few minutes, she would go to the couch and lie down.

The usual morning rush commenced, and she ironed clothes and packed lunches…

View original post 390 more words

Written by mrsdkmiller

May 11, 2014 at 7:07 am

Leave a Reply

